Destination Singapore: Indulging at Clarke Quay (Day 1 of 4)

Clarke Quay at Night

Singapore's Clarke Quay at Night

Trips that aren’t planned are sometimes the most fun.

It wasn’t planned because it was Singapore. A few of my closest friends would often hear me say that Singapore is just… Singapore! And nothing else. Well, there’s Sentosa, the flyer, the famous Durian Building and other modern buildings, and electronics. Just those. Period.

And because it wasn’t planned, I didn’t expect anything. I was even wondering what I could do in a very small country which I had already visited a few years back. Was there anything else aside from those which I had seen before? But then, things change, naturally, so there must be.

Since Tiger Air lands in Diosdado Macapagal Airport in Clark, and since I was at my busiest before the trip, I found myself braving the heavy rainfall and thunderstorms on the highway at 1 in the morning. I drove from Manila to Subic for a few more “errands” in Subic, before I headed to Clark for an early check-in. Over-all, I slept for just an hour. I knew that being sleep-deprived could lead to a grumpy weekend, but what the heck? After all, it wasn’t planned anyway. If there was nothing else to do, I could instead enjoy the comforts of the hotel for the rest of the weekend and and not think of the work that was waiting for me back home. ๐Ÿ™‚

After the slowest check-in service I had ever experienced in my entire travel life, I finally got to rest for a while. The next thing I knew, I was already in Asia’s Lion City. I felt nostalgic for a moment. Memories from the past were suddenly revived. Singapore was our last stop in an ASEAN programme that I’ve attended a few years back and I can vividly remember those last days – the welcome reception, my Singaporean family, our visits to the different attractions, and our goodbyes. It dawned on me that Singapore is, after all, special, just like the rest of the countries we all went to during the programme.

I didn’t arrange for any transfers to the hotel as I just wanted to explore the country on my own. It was easy as Singapore has a well-established transport system. What’s a trip without the adventure, anyway? Besides, there’s only one train line that goes to and from the airport – the GREEN Line! Therefore, getting lost is unacceptable.

As I was travelling from one station to the next, I noticed that some of the residential areas outside the city center and near the airport are very similar to some of the residential areas of England. Small houses with small, trimmed lots. I had another round of nostalgia.

It took a while for me to get to the hotel. I made it a point that I would ‘leisurely’ head to the hotel since I don’t get to walk in a Singapore’s streets everyday. Rushing would mean that I will be missing the little things in the this little country.

Upon reaching the hotel, I decided to take a power nap as I was already beginning to feel the exhaustion. Later that night, my SO, who was already in Singapore for the past 4 days for some event, and I met for a fun night at Clarke Quay.

Clarke Quay is known for being one of the popular “wine and dine” areas of Singapore.ย  It is located in the banks of the clean Singapore River with an array of restaurants, bars, bistros, and retail stores. It also houses a recreation area for those people who are into adrenaline-rush activities. All these establishments are along the waterfront where river cruises are also available for people who are into a more relaxed atmosphere.

Clarke Quay at Night

Clarke Quay in its Vibrant Colours

Bars and restaurants offer varied cuisines – European, Middle-Eastern, Asian, and American. I wanted something different that night, so we headed to a cozy and exquisite Moraccan restaurant – Marrakesh Moroccan Lounge and Bar.

MARRAKESH MOROCCAN LOUNGE AND BAR

Marrakesh Moroccan Lounge and Bar's Exterior

We wanted to know what else we can do for the night so we strolled to the other side of the river. After a few more minutes of exploring the place, we arrived at an area where only the adventurous and the brave would dare do.ย  We saw two unusual rides and they are the G-MAX Reverse Bungy and the GX5 Extreme Swing. The G-MAX sends a maximum of 4 people at once onto the skies and back while the GX5 sends people sideways reaching right across the Singapore River. I haven’t seen anything similar in the previous places I went to. I have bungy jumping in my bucketlist and I will definitely do it when I am ready. ๐Ÿ™‚ But a reverse bungy, is something I would like to do… after bungy jumping.

We ended the night wondering when that will be. ๐Ÿ™‚

G-MAX Reverse Bungy - An Adrenalin-Rush Activity to Cap the Night With

G-MAX Reverse Bungy

Related Link:

Destination Singapore: Getting To Know More About Its Heritage (Day 2 of 4)

Destination Singapore: Enjoying The Great Singapore Sale (Days 3 and 4 of 4)

2 Comments »

  1. […] Destination Singapore: Indulging at Clarke Quay (Day 1 of 4) « Perspectives said J August 2009 @ 11:14 am […]

  2. […] Destination Singapore: Indulging in Clarke Quay (Day 1 of 4) […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

